Sci-Fi & Fantasy

Home » Book Review » Mira Grant [Seanan McGuire] – Parasite

Mira Grant [Seanan McGuire] – Parasite

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers

MiraGrant-Parasite-2013  Parasite 

by Mira Grant

Year/Format: 2013, Book, 608 pages ;

My Review – Great read and good story.  The characters seemed a bit wooden [with so many secrets I guess no one but the main character is believable] but I enjoyed reading it every time I picked it up.  It’s a solid story.  This is a new author for me.  She has written other books and some in series.  This is the 1st in a series.

Subjects:

Library Summary/Review: Genetically engineered tapeworms that protect most of the human populace from illness, boost everyone’s immune system, and even secrete designer drugs begin to change and want out of human bodies they occupy.

Other books by this author:

The Newsflesh Trilogy

  1. Feed
  2. Deadline
  3. Blackout

2 Comments

  1. I remember having a lot of fun back when I read this book. The only problem for me was the ending: I (correctly) guessed it around a fifth of the way into the story, to the point where it would have been more of a twist if it hadn’t ended on that “twist”.

    • Yes I think you are right – it is hard to hide the endings sometimes without being ‘dim’ throughout the story. I admire writers who can do that. Most Movies. TV and books give away the endings – as we have all the facts eventually. Tough call – as I hate it when some fact is not there, unless it is part of the mystery. I remember Blood Music by Greg Bear about microbes taking over the world & Darwin’s Radio where evolution keeps going – he tells a good story and you keep going to the end.
      Thanks for the honest comment. Great to meet someone who has read the same book.

Leave a comment