Sci-Fi & Fantasy

Home » Book Review » Melissa Marr – The Arrivals

Melissa Marr – The Arrivals

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers

index.aspxThe Arrivals1st edition

by Marr, Melissa, author.

Contributors: Anderson, Colin,

Year/Format: 2013, Book, 278 pages

I really enjoyed this story.  In fact I would read more stories about this ‘world’ and with these characters.  I kept feeling that if Steven King wanted to write a Sci-Fi [maybe his works are listed in this genre – I wouldn’t be surprised] he would write one like this.  I liked the dream-like world with its nightmarish characters.  The main characters were well thought out and I was taken by surprise often enough that I was impressed with the writer.  Mixing up people from different eras was clever and reminded me a bit of Dante’s Inferno and modern stories about similar worlds where you are reborn and death is denied.

Melissa Marr is a new author for me and I am adding her to my watch list.  The story is well written and she made me care about the charters in short order.

Library Summary/Review:

Waking up in The Wasteland, a world populated by monsters and unfamiliar landscapes, and in the company of people just like her, Chloe, riddled with the guilt of five years of sobriety down the drain, and a group of strangers are trapped in an eternal afterlife and must help each other find salvation.


Leave a comment